Whekau Trio

The Whekau Trio was formed, initially for a one off performance, in early 2016, but has since performed regularly in the chamber music scene throughout New Zealand. Mark Hobson is based in Christchurch, New Zealand. Major earthquakes in 2011 devastated Christchurch and as a result drastically effected the local arts community. Hobson was then offered a full time position as principal saxophonist for the Royal New Zealand Navy Band in Auckland. He regularly performs in various chamber music ensembles – his Jazz Trio, Tango band and more. Craig Bradfield studied at the Victorian College of the Arts in Melbourne and by his last year he had secured positions in the Australian Philharmonic Orchestra and in the Third Military District Concert Band. He founded the Opus Chamber Ensemble and he is currently completing a Doctor of Musical Arts on baroque bassoon at Waikato University under the tutelage of Lyndon Watts. Alison C. Holden is a concert pianist, accompanist, repetiteur and teacher. She received her Masters degree and the Certificate of Post Graduate Studies from the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, a First Class Honours degree and Diploma in Arts from Victoria University, a Bachelor of Music degree majoring in Musicology from Canterbury University and the F.T.C.L diploma in solo piano performance. 

Mark Hobson, saxophone
Craig Bradfield, bassoon
Alison C. Holden, piano


  • Jul 12 2018

    Whekau Trio


    Philip Norman (1943): Lament
    Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992): Four Seasons of Buenos Aires - Summer, Autumn, Winter, Spring (arr. Jose Bragato; trans. Mark Hobson)
    Philip Norman (1943): Plato's Cave - Shadows, Light, Beyond the Cave 

    ACADEMY OF MUSIC Fran Lhotka Hall Trg Republike Hrvatske 12