Quartet Hayate 

Hayate means a wind which blows gently, but fresh. The Hayate Quartet is always looking for the best way to blend traditional, French-style and original Japanese-style arrangements for saxophone. With the idea to create a brighter and future-oriented saxophone musicality. Norihiko Takiue performs as a soloist, and chamber musician. He also works as a part-time instructor at Kunitachi College of Music, Nagoya University of Arts and Music, Tokai University School of Humanities and Culture, Department of Arts and the Junior and Senior High Schools which are attached to Kunitachi College of Music. Sayaka Takeuchi studied saxophone and graduated from Kunitachi College of Music. She has developed her skills under Mr. Katsuki Tochio, Professor Keiji Shimoji, Mr. Takenobu Nohara. She works as a part-time instructor for a music course at Toride Girls Junior High and Senior High School which are attached to Seitoku University. Hisashi Onuki entered Tokyo University of the Arts in 1990 and graduated in 1994. He completed his master course study in the same university in 1996. He has developed his saxophone skills under Professor Keiji Munesada, Professor Nobuya Sugawa, and Professor Kazuo Tomioka. He also studied chamber music under Professor Kazuo Tomioka. Besides being a concert soloist, he holds courses and masterclasses for brass bands all over Japan. He works as a part-time instructor at Senzokugakuen College of Music, the Junior High School which is attached to Tamagawa University. Hirotoshi Sato graduated from Kunitachi College of Music. He won the highest level award among the wind instrument university students section in the 10th The Great Wall China International Music Competition. He has developed his saxophone skills under Keiji Shimoji, and Kazuyuki Hayashida. He also studied chamber music under Norihiko Takiue, Masato Kumoi, and Keiji Shimoji. He works as a part-time instructor at Yamaha popular music school. 

Norihiko Takiue, soprano saxophone
Sayaka Takeuchi, alto saxophone
Hisashi Onuki, tenor saxophone
Hirotoshi Sato, baritone saxophone



  • Jul 11 2018

    Quartet Hayate 


    Itaru Sakai (1970): Sonatine No. 2 for saxophone quartet Op. 167 - Allegro, Andante, Vivace (premiere performance)
    Shuhei Tamura (1986): The Night of Prometheus  for saxophone quartet (premiere performance)
    Yasuhide Ito (1960): Saxophone Quartet No. 2 - Allegro molto, Adagio (for baritone saxophone), Moderato (for tenor saxophone), Allegretto (for soprano saxophone), Lento (for alto saxophone), Allegro molto (European premiere)

    ACADEMY OF MUSIC Fran Lhotka Hall Trg Republike Hrvatske 12