Traction Avant Period Saxophone Consort

Traction Avant Period Saxophone Consort is led by Shinichi Miyazaki, saxophone historian and specialist of Period Saxophone. This ensemble originated from Traction Avant  (“Front wheel drive” or “traction a vent” = air pressure) and was formed in 1999. They have had many concerts, including a lot of premiere performances. The members are all highly motivated professional saxophonists, active in the Tokyo area, who play on saxophones made in the 19th century, including the 1861 Adolphe Sax original.

Shinichi Miyazaki, Megumu Onokawa Miyazaki, Hideki Nomura, Yoshiharu Sato, Junko Saito Bando, Yoko Shimizu Ando, Kanako Miura, Mizuki Iwabuchi 


  • Jul 12 2018

    Traction Avant Period Saxophone Consort


    Hector Berlioz (1803-1869): Chant Sacré, Op. 2 No. 6
    Giacomo Meyerbeer (1791-1864): "Krönungsmarsch" from Der Prophet
    Hector Berlioz (1803-1869): Le Carnaval Romain, Op. 9

    ACADEMY OF MUSIC Fran Lhotka Hall Trg Republike Hrvatske 12