Zahir Quartet

The Zahir Quartet was born in 2015 out of a beautiful artistic and human encounter. These four saxophonists are currently studying at the Paris Conservatory of Music and Dance where they followed the advice of Laszlo Hadady (Oboe solo at the Inter-Contemporary Ensemble 1980-2010) and received numerous awards. In 2017, the Zahir Quartet won the 9th International Chamber Music Competition in Osaka (Japan), gaining international recognition. Supported by the Fondation Mécénat Musical Société Générale and the Jeunes Talents association, the Zahir Quartet is also the winner of the International Chamber Music Competition of FNAPEC in 2016 and is sponsored by Jean-François Zygel after his passage on France2 in the "La Boîte à Musique". It is the sharing of the same sensitivity, an acute demand and the desire to renew the musical landscape that unites this ensemble. Whether by revisiting the original repertoire, through their meetings with many composers such as Alexandros Markeas, Alexis Ciesla and Stanislav Makovsky, or through numerous transcriptions (Borodine, Bernstein, Piazzolla and Ligeti), these musicians show their curiosity and their creativity.

Guillaume Berceau, soprano saxophone
Sandro Compagnon, alto saxophone
Florent Louman, tenor saxophone
Joakim Ciesla, baritone saxophone


  • Jul 11 2018

    Zahir Quartet


    Alexander Borodine (1833-1887): String Quartet No. 2 in D - Allegro moderato, Scherzo, Notturno, Finale (arr. Guillaume Berceau)

    UNIVERSITY OF ZAGREB Auditorium Trg Republike Hrvatske 14