Print this page

Alah Quartet

Alah Quartet
The Alah Quartet is comprised of four aspiring saxophonists from Shanghai, China. “Alah” means “we” in Shanghainese dialect. While the four members have various education backgrounds, they love to play all kinds of saxophone quartet music and strive to deliver exceptional performances. The Alah Quartet performs regularly in concert halls in Shanghai, such as Cadillac Shanghai Concert Hall, Oriental Arts Center, Poly Theater, Shanghai Museum, and Parsons Music Hall. In October 2017, they performed an entire show on four electric saxophones made by Roland at Music China Exhibition. They continue to discover new works for saxophone and make them accessible to Chinese audiences. Aside from making the China premiere of Patchwork by Philippe Geiss, and they worked closely with Jianqiang Xu, composition professor at Shanghai Conservatory, to commission and premiere his compositions such as Da Hu Shang Shan, and Gui Yuan TianJu, both of which received numerous accolades from audiences in Shanghai. 
Yusheng Xue, soprano saxophone
Wenting Wang, alto saxophone
Binhua Yuan, tenor saxophone
Qianyi Xiao, baritone saxophone
Developed by Domena.com