Hermes Duo

Georgios Lygeridis studied saxophone, phonetics and advanced music theory in the Macedonian Conservatoire of Thessaloniki (Greece). He graduated from the Hochschüle für Musik Köln in the class of Daniel Gauthier and the Ecole Nationale de Musique de Créteil (Paris) in the class of Georges Porte. During his residence in France he received the 1st prize in the Saxophone Competition of the European Music Contest “Picardie”. He participated in a number of seminars by distinguished saxophonists such as: Cl. Delangle, A. Bornkamp and P. Portejoie. He has been a member of various saxophone groups, as well as of a contemporary improvisation ensemble which focused on improvisation as a way of creating soundtracks for films and theatrical plays. Currently, Lygeridis holds a teaching position at the State Conservatoire of Thessaloniki and the Neapolis Municipal Conservatoire (Thessaloniki, Greece). He is the founder and the Artistic Director of the saxophone ensemble “SAX NOUVEAU”. Eftihia Veniota obtained her piano Diploma with a First Class and Virtuosity First Prize of the Associated Board of the Royal Schools of Music of England. She then pursued her advanced performance studies in France, at the Conservatoire National de Région Aubervilliers -La Courveuve in the class of Isabelle Grandet. She furthered her studies at the Conservatoire de Montreuil in the class of Muriel Blaisse. In 2002 she was awarded a First Class Diploma from the Soloists’ Department of theHochschüle für Musik Köln, where she studied with Ulla Graf. Furthermore, continuing with her postgraduate studies under R. Szidon where she graduated with a Konzert Examen Degree from the Robert Schumann Hochschule Düsseldorf. Veniota has been awarded with a number of prizes from piano competitions in Greece while as a soloist she has given recitals and has participated in chamber music concerts in Greece and other European countries. 

Georgios Lygeridis, saxophone
Eftihia Veniota, piano


  • Jul 10 2018

    Hermes Duo


    Giorgos Koumendakis (1959): Απολογία Σιωπής
    Savvas Tsiligiridis (1977): PS for piano and saxophone 
    Menelaos Peistikos (1995): Vagues 
    Paris Paraschopoulos (1965): Amphipolis 

    ACADEMY OF MUSIC Vaclav Huml Hall Trg Republike Hrvatske 12